BMO Canadian ETF Dashboard

Thank you for printing our content at https://www.bmoetfs.ca/en/trade-tips/zpay-bmo-premium-yield-looking-beyond-standard-stock-and-bond-exposure/.

ZPAY BMO Premium Yield: Looking Beyond Standard Stock and Bond Exposure

Matt Carvalho

ZPAY BMO Premium Yield: Looking Beyond Standard Stock and Bond Exposure

Snapshot

Stock markets have recovered the majority of their losses year-to-date, while bonds yields have plummeted to new lows. Where can investors go for something which might not move exactly like either of those? As an alternative exposure, we took a look at BMO Premium Yield ETF (Ticker: ZPAY).

Details

BMO Premium Yield ETF (Ticker: ZPAY)

Benefits

De-risk equity exposure AND access higher tax-adjusted returns than traditional fixed income.

Trade Idea

This strategy invests roughly one-third of its assets into a portfolio of U.S. large-cap securities, which generally have more stable incomes and higher-quality balance sheets than the overall market. Yield is generated from writing covered calls, as well as puts, on the target positions it owns.

The ability to participate in some stock market returns, while also generating tax-efficient income from the options premiums that are generally considered as capital gains, is appealing.

After investing small amounts in preferred securities, managers are forced to buy when stock prices fall (and puts are exercised), or to sell after meaningful gains have occurred (and calls are exercised against current holdings), which seemingly creates a repeatable method of buying low and selling high.

Early 2020 was an enormous test for any fund strategy, and ZPAY proved to have a significantly smaller downturn relative to S&P/TSX 60 Index, while also having the ability to participate in some of the recovery during the period shown in the chart below. 

July-2020-matt-carvalho-chart-EN.JPG#asset:4398

Sources: Morningstar Direct 2020. ZPAY inception date: January 15, 2020. Past performance is no guarantee of future results.

We expect volatility to remain elevated for the remainder of the year, which this strategy benefits from by taking advantage of larger premiums on the options it sells. If markets move sideways over the second half the of year, the fund’s 6% yield1 could be meaningful to an investor’s total return.

We would view such a strategy as an alternative to the core stock and bond positions our clients already hold. Moreover, we are always looking for additional strategies to help make portfolios robust in a variety of different investing environments.

Outlook

Both the downturn and the subsequent recovery in stock markets this year have been unprecedented. With global virus concerns and political uncertainty in the U.S. likely to continue for much of 2020, allocators face a tough choice of where to weight portfolios. Strategies like ZPAY could potentially be attractive in this environment, particularly for investors who are looking to lighten their equity risk without increasing their exposure to bonds with extremely low yields.

 

1  Morningstar Direct, annualized distribution yield as of June 22, 2020.

Matt Carvalho

ZPAY BMO Premium Yield: Looking Beyond Standard Stock and Bond Exposure

Snapshot

Stock markets have recovered the majority of their losses year-to-date, while bonds yields have plummeted to new lows. Where can investors go for something which might not move exactly like either of those? As an alternative exposure, we took a look at BMO Premium Yield ETF (Ticker: ZPAY).

Details

BMO Premium Yield ETF (Ticker: ZPAY)

Benefits

De-risk equity exposure AND access higher tax-adjusted returns than traditional fixed income.

Trade Idea

This strategy invests roughly one-third of its assets into a portfolio of U.S. large-cap securities, which generally have more stable incomes and higher-quality balance sheets than the overall market. Yield is generated from writing covered calls, as well as puts, on the target positions it owns.

The ability to participate in some stock market returns, while also generating tax-efficient income from the options premiums that are generally considered as capital gains, is appealing.

After investing small amounts in preferred securities, managers are forced to buy when stock prices fall (and puts are exercised), or to sell after meaningful gains have occurred (and calls are exercised against current holdings), which seemingly creates a repeatable method of buying low and selling high.

Early 2020 was an enormous test for any fund strategy, and ZPAY proved to have a significantly smaller downturn relative to S&P/TSX 60 Index, while also having the ability to participate in some of the recovery during the period shown in the chart below. 

July-2020-matt-carvalho-chart-EN.JPG#asset:4398

Sources: Morningstar Direct 2020. ZPAY inception date: January 15, 2020. Past performance is no guarantee of future results.

We expect volatility to remain elevated for the remainder of the year, which this strategy benefits from by taking advantage of larger premiums on the options it sells. If markets move sideways over the second half the of year, the fund’s 6% yield1 could be meaningful to an investor’s total return.

We would view such a strategy as an alternative to the core stock and bond positions our clients already hold. Moreover, we are always looking for additional strategies to help make portfolios robust in a variety of different investing environments.

Outlook

Both the downturn and the subsequent recovery in stock markets this year have been unprecedented. With global virus concerns and political uncertainty in the U.S. likely to continue for much of 2020, allocators face a tough choice of where to weight portfolios. Strategies like ZPAY could potentially be attractive in this environment, particularly for investors who are looking to lighten their equity risk without increasing their exposure to bonds with extremely low yields.

 

1  Morningstar Direct, annualized distribution yield as of June 22, 2020.

« » icon to trigger sliding panel Sign Up

Stay Informed

Sign-up to receive monthly and quarterly publications from BMO Global Asset Management.

* Mandatory fields

Thank you for subscribing.

This email is intended for informational purposes only. Investments should be evaluated relative to the individual's investment objectives. The information contained in this newsletter should not be construed as investment and/or tax advice to any party. The statements and statistics contained herein are based on material believed to be reliable but may not be accurate or complete.

FOR ADVISOR USE ONLY.

By submitting this form, you consent to receiving the publications you have chosen at the email address you have provided. You can manage your subscription through the links we provide in our emails. Your email address will only be used for the purpose of providing you with the publications you have requested.

TABLEAU DE BORD DES FNB CANADIENS DE BMO

— en date du 30 juin 2020 —

Thank you for printing our content at https://www.bmoetfs.ca/fr/trade-tips/zpay-bmo-premium-yield-looking-beyond-standard-stock-and-bond-exposure/.

ZPAY– FNB BMO à rendement bonifié : regarder au-delà de l’exposition traditionnelle aux actions et aux obligations

Matt Carvalho

ZPAY– FNB BMO à rendement bonifié : regarder au-delà de l’exposition traditionnelle aux actions et aux obligations

Aperçu

Les marchés boursiers ont récupéré la majeure partie de leurs pertes depuis le début de l’année, tandis que les taux obligataires ont atteint de nouveaux creux. Où les investisseurs peuvent-ils trouver un placement qui n’évolue pas exactement comme les actions ou les obligations? En tant que placement non traditionnel, nous avons examiné le FNB BMO à rendement bonifié (symbole : ZPAY).

Détails

FNB BMO à rendement bonifié (symbole : ZPAY)

Avantages

Réduction des risques liés à l’exposition aux actions ET accès à des rendements corrigés de l’impôt plus élevés que ceux des titres à revenu fixe traditionnels.

Idée de placement

Cette stratégie investit environ le tiers de ses actifs dans un portefeuille de titres américains à grande capitalisation, qui ont généralement des revenus plus stables et des bilans de meilleure qualité que l’ensemble du marché. Le rendement est généré par la vente d’options d’achat couvertes et d’options de vente sur les positions cibles détenues.

La possibilité de dégager un certain rendement boursier, tout en produisant un revenu fiscalement avantageux grâce aux primes sur options qui sont généralement considérées comme des gains en capital, est intéressante.

Après avoir investi de petits montants dans des actions privilégiés, les gestionnaires sont obligés d’acheter lorsque le cours des actions baisse (et que les options de vente sont exercées), ou de vendre après des gains importants (et l’exercice des options d’achat sur les placements détenus), ce qui crée apparemment une méthode reproductible d’achat à la baisse et de vente à la hausse.

Le début de 2020 a été un test considérable pour toutes les stratégies de fonds; le ZPAY a encaissé un recul nettement plus faible que celui de l’indice S&P/TSX 60 tout en participant à la reprise enregistrée durant la période présentée dans le tableau ci-dessous. 

July-2020-matt-carvalho-chart-FR.jpg#asset:4399

Source : Morningstar Direct, 2020. ZPAY, date de création ;: 15 janvier 2020. Le rendement passé n’est pas garant des résultats futurs.

Nous nous attendons à ce que la volatilité reste élevée jusqu’à la fin de l’année, ce dont la stratégie profite en augmentant les primes des options qu’elle vend. Si les marchés font du surplace pendant le deuxième semestre de l’année, le taux de rendement de 6 %1 du fonds pourrait s’avérer important pour le rendement total d’un investisseur.

Une telle stratégie pourrait être une solution de rechange aux positions en actions et en obligations de base que nos clients détiennent déjà. De plus, nous sommes toujours à la recherche de nouvelles stratégies permettant de renforcer les portefeuilles dans divers contextes de placement.

Perspectives

Cette année, le repli et la reprise subséquente des marchés boursiers ont été inédits. Les inquiétudes suscitées par le virus à l’échelle du globe et l’incertitude politique aux États-Unis devraient persister pendant la plus grande partie de 2020; par conséquent, les responsables de la répartition de l’actif ont un choix difficile à faire concernant la pondération des portefeuilles. Dans ce contexte, des stratégies comme le ZPAY pourraient être attrayantes, en particulier pour les investisseurs qui cherchent à atténuer le risque lié aux actions sans augmenter leur exposition à des obligations dont le taux de rendement est extrêmement faible.

 

1 Morningstar Direct, rendement annualisé des distributions au 22 juin 2020.

Matt Carvalho

ZPAY– FNB BMO à rendement bonifié : regarder au-delà de l’exposition traditionnelle aux actions et aux obligations

Aperçu

Les marchés boursiers ont récupéré la majeure partie de leurs pertes depuis le début de l’année, tandis que les taux obligataires ont atteint de nouveaux creux. Où les investisseurs peuvent-ils trouver un placement qui n’évolue pas exactement comme les actions ou les obligations? En tant que placement non traditionnel, nous avons examiné le FNB BMO à rendement bonifié (symbole : ZPAY).

Détails

FNB BMO à rendement bonifié (symbole : ZPAY)

Avantages

Réduction des risques liés à l’exposition aux actions ET accès à des rendements corrigés de l’impôt plus élevés que ceux des titres à revenu fixe traditionnels.

Idée de placement

Cette stratégie investit environ le tiers de ses actifs dans un portefeuille de titres américains à grande capitalisation, qui ont généralement des revenus plus stables et des bilans de meilleure qualité que l’ensemble du marché. Le rendement est généré par la vente d’options d’achat couvertes et d’options de vente sur les positions cibles détenues.

La possibilité de dégager un certain rendement boursier, tout en produisant un revenu fiscalement avantageux grâce aux primes sur options qui sont généralement considérées comme des gains en capital, est intéressante.

Après avoir investi de petits montants dans des actions privilégiés, les gestionnaires sont obligés d’acheter lorsque le cours des actions baisse (et que les options de vente sont exercées), ou de vendre après des gains importants (et l’exercice des options d’achat sur les placements détenus), ce qui crée apparemment une méthode reproductible d’achat à la baisse et de vente à la hausse.

Le début de 2020 a été un test considérable pour toutes les stratégies de fonds; le ZPAY a encaissé un recul nettement plus faible que celui de l’indice S&P/TSX 60 tout en participant à la reprise enregistrée durant la période présentée dans le tableau ci-dessous. 

July-2020-matt-carvalho-chart-FR.jpg#asset:4399

Source : Morningstar Direct, 2020. ZPAY, date de création ;: 15 janvier 2020. Le rendement passé n’est pas garant des résultats futurs.

Nous nous attendons à ce que la volatilité reste élevée jusqu’à la fin de l’année, ce dont la stratégie profite en augmentant les primes des options qu’elle vend. Si les marchés font du surplace pendant le deuxième semestre de l’année, le taux de rendement de 6 %1 du fonds pourrait s’avérer important pour le rendement total d’un investisseur.

Une telle stratégie pourrait être une solution de rechange aux positions en actions et en obligations de base que nos clients détiennent déjà. De plus, nous sommes toujours à la recherche de nouvelles stratégies permettant de renforcer les portefeuilles dans divers contextes de placement.

Perspectives

Cette année, le repli et la reprise subséquente des marchés boursiers ont été inédits. Les inquiétudes suscitées par le virus à l’échelle du globe et l’incertitude politique aux États-Unis devraient persister pendant la plus grande partie de 2020; par conséquent, les responsables de la répartition de l’actif ont un choix difficile à faire concernant la pondération des portefeuilles. Dans ce contexte, des stratégies comme le ZPAY pourraient être attrayantes, en particulier pour les investisseurs qui cherchent à atténuer le risque lié aux actions sans augmenter leur exposition à des obligations dont le taux de rendement est extrêmement faible.

 

1 Morningstar Direct, rendement annualisé des distributions au 22 juin 2020.