BMO Canadian ETF Dashboard

Thank you for printing our content at https://www.bmoetfs.ca/en/trade-tips/getting-exposure-to-increasing-dividends-in-canada/.

Getting Exposure to Increasing Dividends in Canada

Chris Heakes

Getting Exposure to Increasing Dividends in Canada

Buoyed by recovering economic conditions, the loosening of pandemic-related regulatory restrictions, and improved corporate earnings, several Canadian companies have recently raised dividends, with several more expected to follow suit in the coming months. The power of dividend-based investing has been quite strong, with yield-based growers leading the pack.


Summary of Recommendations:


Trade Opportunity:

  • Some dividend increases, in particular Manulife (MFC) and Sunlife (SLF), have been linked to recent OSFI relief for federally regulated financial institutions. While the above companies acted quickly to declare additional dividends, many investors have their eye on the banking sector, which is set to report around November month-end, and may elect to announce dividend increases at that time. Several analysts are anticipating dividend payouts to return to historic levels, with a forecasted increase of 18% on average.1
  • Canadian markets have been fundamentally attractive, as indicated in the charts below, trading at a significant valuation discount, when compared to the U.S. As economic recovery continues to take hold, Canada is a target of international investors seeking growth exposure beyond the U.S.
  • In addition to the attractiveness of growing dividends in the banking sector, several Canadian companies have already increased their dividends this year, spurred by economic recovery and improved commodity prices. Suncor recently announced a 100% dividend increase to restore its pre-COVID dividend yield. Such trends are not ignored by the market, and have been well received by investors. BMO ETFs – whether banks or broader dividends – are a compelling way to access Canadian dividend recovery.


Chart 1: Selected Dividend Increase

Ticker Name Mth Increased Previous Rate New Rate Frequency % Increase Dividend Yield
SU SUNCOR ENERGY INC Nov 0.21 0.42 Qrtly 100% 5.2%
CNQ CANADIAN NATURAL RESOURCES Nov 0.47 0.59 Qrtly 25% 4.5%
WCN WASTE CONNECTIONS INC Oct 0.21 0.23 Qrtly 12% 0.7%
OTEX OPEN TEXT CORP Aug 0.21 0.22 Qrtly 10% 1.7%
L LOBLAW COMPANIES LTD July 0.34 0.37 Qrtly 9% 1.5%
CTC/A CANADIAN TIRE CORP-CLASS A Nov 1.14 1.18 Qrtly 3% 2.9%

Source: Bloomberg, as of November 15, 2021.


  • The table above lists select companies that have raised their dividends in the second half of 2021. In general, corporate financial health is strong, with credit spreads low, and many companies cash-rich.
  • Investors are excited about the prospect of Canadian banks raising their dividends. As mentioned above, restoring payout ratios to historical ranges will require dividend increases of 10%-30%, depending on the institution. With an average bank dividend yield of 3.4% as of November 15, 2021, a 15% dividend hike would raise the average yield to 3.9%, a meaningful increase for investors who follow dividend streams as a methodology to value companies.


Chart 2: Canadian Equities Are Attractive

Source: Scotiabank GBM Portfolio Strategy.


  • Bolstering the case for Canadian equities in general is their extreme relative valuation, versus the U.S. market. As noted in the charts, U.S. to Canadian forward price-to-earnings (P/E) ratios are at an extreme, last seen during the IT bubble of 2001. While the U.S. continues to exhibit market strength and investor confidence, investors are more likely to turn to other regions with better valuations.


Chart 3: Dividend Investing in Canada


Source: BMO Capital Markets, equally weighted return baskets, January 1990 to August 2021.

  • The chart above is a clear illustration of the power of dividend investing in Canada. While the S&P/TSX has delivered a solid 8% annualized return, with 14% volatility, its exposure to dividend-growers and dividend-payers has not only added to the returns, but also reduced volatility. Reducing and eliminating dividend-cutters and non-dividend-paying stocks from the portfolio has generally led to better results over the longer term. Canadian banks have a 25-year-plus history of not reducing dividends, and regularly increasing them, falling squarely in the dividend-growth bucket. In addition, the dividend construction methodology behind ZDV and ZWC focuses on names that have paid dividends for 3 years, have not cut dividends, and have sustainable payout ratios and credit profiles to continue generating payouts in the future.


Conclusion:

  • Sustainable dividend investing is a historically proven approach to effectively achieve growth and mitigate risks, relative to the broad index. Canadian markets, in general, are attractively valued, when compared to the U.S., and several companies have either raised their dividends this year or are poised to do so in the next few months. Gaining exposure to these tailwinds through Canadian banks (ZEB), or through a broad dividend strategy (ZDV), offers compelling value for investors, while ZWB and ZWC provide similarly attractive exposures with increased income using a covered call overlay.



1 Kevin Orland, “Banks could raise dividends by 18% on average, with National and BMO seeing biggest hikes,” Financial Post, November 8, 2021.

Chris Heakes

Getting Exposure to Increasing Dividends in Canada

Buoyed by recovering economic conditions, the loosening of pandemic-related regulatory restrictions, and improved corporate earnings, several Canadian companies have recently raised dividends, with several more expected to follow suit in the coming months. The power of dividend-based investing has been quite strong, with yield-based growers leading the pack.


Summary of Recommendations:


Trade Opportunity:

  • Some dividend increases, in particular Manulife (MFC) and Sunlife (SLF), have been linked to recent OSFI relief for federally regulated financial institutions. While the above companies acted quickly to declare additional dividends, many investors have their eye on the banking sector, which is set to report around November month-end, and may elect to announce dividend increases at that time. Several analysts are anticipating dividend payouts to return to historic levels, with a forecasted increase of 18% on average.1
  • Canadian markets have been fundamentally attractive, as indicated in the charts below, trading at a significant valuation discount, when compared to the U.S. As economic recovery continues to take hold, Canada is a target of international investors seeking growth exposure beyond the U.S.
  • In addition to the attractiveness of growing dividends in the banking sector, several Canadian companies have already increased their dividends this year, spurred by economic recovery and improved commodity prices. Suncor recently announced a 100% dividend increase to restore its pre-COVID dividend yield. Such trends are not ignored by the market, and have been well received by investors. BMO ETFs – whether banks or broader dividends – are a compelling way to access Canadian dividend recovery.


Chart 1: Selected Dividend Increase

Ticker Name Mth Increased Previous Rate New Rate Frequency % Increase Dividend Yield
SU SUNCOR ENERGY INC Nov 0.21 0.42 Qrtly 100% 5.2%
CNQ CANADIAN NATURAL RESOURCES Nov 0.47 0.59 Qrtly 25% 4.5%
WCN WASTE CONNECTIONS INC Oct 0.21 0.23 Qrtly 12% 0.7%
OTEX OPEN TEXT CORP Aug 0.21 0.22 Qrtly 10% 1.7%
L LOBLAW COMPANIES LTD July 0.34 0.37 Qrtly 9% 1.5%
CTC/A CANADIAN TIRE CORP-CLASS A Nov 1.14 1.18 Qrtly 3% 2.9%

Source: Bloomberg, as of November 15, 2021.


  • The table above lists select companies that have raised their dividends in the second half of 2021. In general, corporate financial health is strong, with credit spreads low, and many companies cash-rich.
  • Investors are excited about the prospect of Canadian banks raising their dividends. As mentioned above, restoring payout ratios to historical ranges will require dividend increases of 10%-30%, depending on the institution. With an average bank dividend yield of 3.4% as of November 15, 2021, a 15% dividend hike would raise the average yield to 3.9%, a meaningful increase for investors who follow dividend streams as a methodology to value companies.


Chart 2: Canadian Equities Are Attractive

Source: Scotiabank GBM Portfolio Strategy.


  • Bolstering the case for Canadian equities in general is their extreme relative valuation, versus the U.S. market. As noted in the charts, U.S. to Canadian forward price-to-earnings (P/E) ratios are at an extreme, last seen during the IT bubble of 2001. While the U.S. continues to exhibit market strength and investor confidence, investors are more likely to turn to other regions with better valuations.


Chart 3: Dividend Investing in Canada


Source: BMO Capital Markets, equally weighted return baskets, January 1990 to August 2021.

  • The chart above is a clear illustration of the power of dividend investing in Canada. While the S&P/TSX has delivered a solid 8% annualized return, with 14% volatility, its exposure to dividend-growers and dividend-payers has not only added to the returns, but also reduced volatility. Reducing and eliminating dividend-cutters and non-dividend-paying stocks from the portfolio has generally led to better results over the longer term. Canadian banks have a 25-year-plus history of not reducing dividends, and regularly increasing them, falling squarely in the dividend-growth bucket. In addition, the dividend construction methodology behind ZDV and ZWC focuses on names that have paid dividends for 3 years, have not cut dividends, and have sustainable payout ratios and credit profiles to continue generating payouts in the future.


Conclusion:

  • Sustainable dividend investing is a historically proven approach to effectively achieve growth and mitigate risks, relative to the broad index. Canadian markets, in general, are attractively valued, when compared to the U.S., and several companies have either raised their dividends this year or are poised to do so in the next few months. Gaining exposure to these tailwinds through Canadian banks (ZEB), or through a broad dividend strategy (ZDV), offers compelling value for investors, while ZWB and ZWC provide similarly attractive exposures with increased income using a covered call overlay.



1 Kevin Orland, “Banks could raise dividends by 18% on average, with National and BMO seeing biggest hikes,” Financial Post, November 8, 2021.

« » icon to trigger sliding panel Sign Up

Stay Informed

Sign-up to receive weekly emails publications from BMO Global Asset Management.

* Mandatory fields

Thank you for subscribing.

This email is intended for informational purposes only. Investments should be evaluated relative to the individual's investment objectives. The information contained in this newsletter should not be construed as investment and/or tax advice to any party. The statements and statistics contained herein are based on material believed to be reliable but may not be accurate or complete.

FOR ADVISOR USE ONLY.

By submitting this form, you consent to receiving the publications you have chosen at the email address you have provided. You can manage your subscription through the links we provide in our emails. Your email address will only be used for the purpose of providing you with the publications you have requested.

TABLEAU DE BORD DES FNB CANADIENS DE BMO

Thank you for printing our content at https://www.bmoetfs.ca/fr/trade-tips/getting-exposure-to-increasing-dividends-in-canada/.

Obtenir une exposition à la hausse des dividendes au Canada

Chris Heakes

Obtenir une exposition à la hausse des dividendes au Canada

Stimulées par l’amélioration des conditions économiques, l’assouplissement des restrictions réglementaires liées à la pandémie et l’amélioration des bénéfices des sociétés, plusieurs sociétés canadiennes ont récemment relevé leurs dividendes et plusieurs autres devraient le faire ces prochains mois. La puissance des placements axés sur les dividendes a été assez forte et les sociétés axées sur le rendement qui augmentent leur dividende mènent la danse.


Résumé des recommandations :


Occasion de placement :

  • Certaines hausses de dividendes, en particulier celles de Manuvie (MFC) et de Sunlife (SLF), ont été associées aux récentes mesures d’allègement du BSIF destinées aux institutions financières réglementées par le gouvernement fédéral. Les sociétés ci-dessus ont agi rapidement pour déclarer des dividendes supplémentaires, mais de nombreux investisseurs ont les yeux rivés sur le secteur bancaire, qui devrait faire état de ses résultats vers la fin novembre et qui pourrait choisir d’annoncer des hausses de dividendes à ce moment-là. Plusieurs analystes s’attendent à ce que les dividendes retrouvent des niveaux historiques, avec une hausse de 18 % en moyenne1.
  • Comme l’indiquent les graphiques ci-dessous, les marchés canadiens ont été fondamentalement attrayants et se négocient avec un escompte important par rapport aux États-Unis. Alors que la reprise économique continue de se raffermir, le Canada est une cible pour les investisseurs internationaux qui cherchent une exposition à la croissance au-delà des États-Unis.
  • En plus de l’attrait suscité par la hausse des dividendes dans le secteur bancaire, plusieurs sociétés canadiennes ont déjà augmenté leurs dividendes cette année, encouragées par la reprise économique et l’amélioration des prix des produits de base. Suncor a récemment annoncé une hausse de son dividende de 100 % pour retrouver son rendement en dividendes d’avant la COVID-19. Ces tendances ne sont pas ignorées par le marché et ont été bien accueillies par les investisseurs. Les FNB BMO – qu’il s’agisse de titres de banques ou à dividendes généraux – sont un moyen efficace d’accéder à la reprise des dividendes canadiens.


Graphique 1 : Hausses de dividendes sélectionnées

Symbole Nom Mois d’augm. Taux précédent Nouveau taux Fréquence Augm. en % Rendement en dividendes
SU SUNCOR ÉNERGIE INC. Nov. 0,21 0,42 Trim. 100 % 5,2 %
CNQ CANADIAN NATURAL RESOURCES Nov. 0,47 0,59 Trim. 25 % 4,5 %
WCN WASTE CONNECTIONS INC Oct. 0,21 0,23 Trim. 12 % 0,7 %
OTEX OPEN TEXT CORP Août 0,21 0,23 Trim. 10 % 1,7 %
L LOBLAW COMPANIES LTD Juill. 0,34 0,37 Trim. 9 % 1,5 %
CTC/A CANADIAN TIRE CORP., CAT. A Nov. 1,14 1,18 Trim. 3 % 2,9 %

Source : Bloomberg, au 15 novembre 2021.


  • Le tableau ci-dessus présente des sociétés ayant augmenté leurs dividendes au deuxième semestre de 2021. En règle générale, la santé financière des sociétés est solide, les écarts de taux sont faibles et de nombreuses sociétés regorgent de liquidités.
  • Les investisseurs sont enthousiasmés par la perspective de voir les banques canadiennes augmenter leurs dividendes. Comme il a été mentionné plus haut, des augmentations de 10 % à 30 % seront nécessaires pour ramener les ratios de distribution aux fourchettes historiques, dépendamment de l’institution. Le taux de rendement en dividendes moyen des banques étant de 3,4 % au 15 novembre 2021, une hausse de 15 % des dividendes porterait le taux de rendement moyen à 3,9 %, une hausse importante pour les investisseurs qui, pour évaluer les sociétés, ont comme méthodologie de suivre les flux de dividendes.


Graphique 2 : Les actions canadiennes sont attrayantes

Source : Stratégie de portefeuille des SBMM de la Banque Scotia.


  • La valorisation relative extrême des actions canadiennes, par rapport au marché américain, rend généralement les actions canadiennes attrayantes. Comme le montrent les graphiques, les ratios cours-bénéfice (C/B) prévisionnels entre les États-Unis et le Canada sont extrêmes, comme au moment de la bulle technologique de 2001. Aux États-Unis le marché reste vigoureux et les investisseurs confiants, les investisseurs sont donc plus susceptibles de se tourner vers d’autres régions affichant de meilleures valorisations.


Graphique 3 : Les placements axés sur les dividendes au Canada

Source : BMO Marchés des capitaux, paniers de rendement équipondérés, de janvier 1990 à août 2021.


  • Le graphique ci-dessus illustre clairement la force des placements axés sur les dividendes au Canada. Tandis que l’indice S&P/TSX a dégagé un solide rendement annualisé de 8 %, avec une volatilité de 14 %, son exposition aux sociétés qui augmentent leurs dividendes et à celles qui en versent a non seulement contribué au rendement, mais a aussi réduit la volatilité. La réduction et l’élimination hors du portefeuille des sociétés qui baissent leurs dividendes ou qui n’en versent pas ont généralement mené à de meilleurs résultats à long terme. Les banques canadiennes n’ont pas réduit leurs dividendes depuis plus de 25 ans, et les augmentent régulièrement, s’inscrivent franchement dans la catégorie des sociétés qui augmentent leurs dividendes. De plus, la méthode de construction liée aux dividendes qui est à l’origine du ZDV et du ZWC privilégie les sociétés qui ont versé des dividendes pendant trois ans, ne les ont pas réduits et ont des ratios de distribution ainsi que des profils de solvabilité durables permettant de continuer à générer des distributions à l’avenir.


Conclusion :

  • L’investissement durable dans les placements axés sur les dividendes est une approche qui a fait ses preuves et qui vise à obtenir efficacement une croissance ainsi qu’à atténuer les risques par rapport à l’indice général. Globalement, les marchés canadiens présentent une valorisation attrayante, comparativement à celle des États-Unis, et plusieurs sociétés ont augmenté leurs dividendes cette année ou sont prêtes à le faire au cours des prochains mois. Le fait d’obtenir une exposition à ces facteurs favorables au moyen des banques canadiennes (ZEB) ou d’une vaste stratégie axée sur les dividendes (ZDV) procure une valeur attrayante aux investisseurs, tandis que les fonds ZWB et ZWC offrent des expositions tout aussi intéressantes, en plus d’un revenu accru au moyen d’une superposition d’options d’achat couvertes.



1 Kevin Orland, « Banks could raise dividends by 18% on average, with National and BMO seeing biggest hikes, » Financial Post, 8 novembre 2021.

Chris Heakes

Obtenir une exposition à la hausse des dividendes au Canada

Stimulées par l’amélioration des conditions économiques, l’assouplissement des restrictions réglementaires liées à la pandémie et l’amélioration des bénéfices des sociétés, plusieurs sociétés canadiennes ont récemment relevé leurs dividendes et plusieurs autres devraient le faire ces prochains mois. La puissance des placements axés sur les dividendes a été assez forte et les sociétés axées sur le rendement qui augmentent leur dividende mènent la danse.


Résumé des recommandations :


Occasion de placement :

  • Certaines hausses de dividendes, en particulier celles de Manuvie (MFC) et de Sunlife (SLF), ont été associées aux récentes mesures d’allègement du BSIF destinées aux institutions financières réglementées par le gouvernement fédéral. Les sociétés ci-dessus ont agi rapidement pour déclarer des dividendes supplémentaires, mais de nombreux investisseurs ont les yeux rivés sur le secteur bancaire, qui devrait faire état de ses résultats vers la fin novembre et qui pourrait choisir d’annoncer des hausses de dividendes à ce moment-là. Plusieurs analystes s’attendent à ce que les dividendes retrouvent des niveaux historiques, avec une hausse de 18 % en moyenne1.
  • Comme l’indiquent les graphiques ci-dessous, les marchés canadiens ont été fondamentalement attrayants et se négocient avec un escompte important par rapport aux États-Unis. Alors que la reprise économique continue de se raffermir, le Canada est une cible pour les investisseurs internationaux qui cherchent une exposition à la croissance au-delà des États-Unis.
  • En plus de l’attrait suscité par la hausse des dividendes dans le secteur bancaire, plusieurs sociétés canadiennes ont déjà augmenté leurs dividendes cette année, encouragées par la reprise économique et l’amélioration des prix des produits de base. Suncor a récemment annoncé une hausse de son dividende de 100 % pour retrouver son rendement en dividendes d’avant la COVID-19. Ces tendances ne sont pas ignorées par le marché et ont été bien accueillies par les investisseurs. Les FNB BMO – qu’il s’agisse de titres de banques ou à dividendes généraux – sont un moyen efficace d’accéder à la reprise des dividendes canadiens.


Graphique 1 : Hausses de dividendes sélectionnées

Symbole Nom Mois d’augm. Taux précédent Nouveau taux Fréquence Augm. en % Rendement en dividendes
SU SUNCOR ÉNERGIE INC. Nov. 0,21 0,42 Trim. 100 % 5,2 %
CNQ CANADIAN NATURAL RESOURCES Nov. 0,47 0,59 Trim. 25 % 4,5 %
WCN WASTE CONNECTIONS INC Oct. 0,21 0,23 Trim. 12 % 0,7 %
OTEX OPEN TEXT CORP Août 0,21 0,23 Trim. 10 % 1,7 %
L LOBLAW COMPANIES LTD Juill. 0,34 0,37 Trim. 9 % 1,5 %
CTC/A CANADIAN TIRE CORP., CAT. A Nov. 1,14 1,18 Trim. 3 % 2,9 %

Source : Bloomberg, au 15 novembre 2021.


  • Le tableau ci-dessus présente des sociétés ayant augmenté leurs dividendes au deuxième semestre de 2021. En règle générale, la santé financière des sociétés est solide, les écarts de taux sont faibles et de nombreuses sociétés regorgent de liquidités.
  • Les investisseurs sont enthousiasmés par la perspective de voir les banques canadiennes augmenter leurs dividendes. Comme il a été mentionné plus haut, des augmentations de 10 % à 30 % seront nécessaires pour ramener les ratios de distribution aux fourchettes historiques, dépendamment de l’institution. Le taux de rendement en dividendes moyen des banques étant de 3,4 % au 15 novembre 2021, une hausse de 15 % des dividendes porterait le taux de rendement moyen à 3,9 %, une hausse importante pour les investisseurs qui, pour évaluer les sociétés, ont comme méthodologie de suivre les flux de dividendes.


Graphique 2 : Les actions canadiennes sont attrayantes

Source : Stratégie de portefeuille des SBMM de la Banque Scotia.


  • La valorisation relative extrême des actions canadiennes, par rapport au marché américain, rend généralement les actions canadiennes attrayantes. Comme le montrent les graphiques, les ratios cours-bénéfice (C/B) prévisionnels entre les États-Unis et le Canada sont extrêmes, comme au moment de la bulle technologique de 2001. Aux États-Unis le marché reste vigoureux et les investisseurs confiants, les investisseurs sont donc plus susceptibles de se tourner vers d’autres régions affichant de meilleures valorisations.


Graphique 3 : Les placements axés sur les dividendes au Canada

Source : BMO Marchés des capitaux, paniers de rendement équipondérés, de janvier 1990 à août 2021.


  • Le graphique ci-dessus illustre clairement la force des placements axés sur les dividendes au Canada. Tandis que l’indice S&P/TSX a dégagé un solide rendement annualisé de 8 %, avec une volatilité de 14 %, son exposition aux sociétés qui augmentent leurs dividendes et à celles qui en versent a non seulement contribué au rendement, mais a aussi réduit la volatilité. La réduction et l’élimination hors du portefeuille des sociétés qui baissent leurs dividendes ou qui n’en versent pas ont généralement mené à de meilleurs résultats à long terme. Les banques canadiennes n’ont pas réduit leurs dividendes depuis plus de 25 ans, et les augmentent régulièrement, s’inscrivent franchement dans la catégorie des sociétés qui augmentent leurs dividendes. De plus, la méthode de construction liée aux dividendes qui est à l’origine du ZDV et du ZWC privilégie les sociétés qui ont versé des dividendes pendant trois ans, ne les ont pas réduits et ont des ratios de distribution ainsi que des profils de solvabilité durables permettant de continuer à générer des distributions à l’avenir.


Conclusion :

  • L’investissement durable dans les placements axés sur les dividendes est une approche qui a fait ses preuves et qui vise à obtenir efficacement une croissance ainsi qu’à atténuer les risques par rapport à l’indice général. Globalement, les marchés canadiens présentent une valorisation attrayante, comparativement à celle des États-Unis, et plusieurs sociétés ont augmenté leurs dividendes cette année ou sont prêtes à le faire au cours des prochains mois. Le fait d’obtenir une exposition à ces facteurs favorables au moyen des banques canadiennes (ZEB) ou d’une vaste stratégie axée sur les dividendes (ZDV) procure une valeur attrayante aux investisseurs, tandis que les fonds ZWB et ZWC offrent des expositions tout aussi intéressantes, en plus d’un revenu accru au moyen d’une superposition d’options d’achat couvertes.



1 Kevin Orland, « Banks could raise dividends by 18% on average, with National and BMO seeing biggest hikes, » Financial Post, 8 novembre 2021.

« » icon to trigger sliding panel Inscription

Restez informé!

Abonnez-vous aujourd'hui même au Bulletins électroniques hebdomedaires que BMO Gestion mondiale d’actifs envoie par courriel.

* Tous les champs sont obligatoires.

Merci d'avoir bien voulu vous abonner.

Le présent courriel est fourni à titre informatif seulement. Les placements doivent être évalués en fonction des objectifs de chaque investisseur. Les renseignements contenus dans le présent document ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils en placement ou en fiscalité. Les énoncés et les statistiques aux présentes proviennent d’une source jugée fiable, mais pourraient ne pas être exacts ou exhaustifs.

RÉSERVÉ À L’USAGE DES CONSEILLERS.

En soumettant ce formulaire, vous acceptez de recevoir les publications que vous avez choisies à l’adresse de courriel que vous avez fournie. Vous pouvez gérer votre abonnement à l’aide des liens que nous donnons dans nos courriels. Nous n’utiliserons votre adresse de courriel que pour vous faire parvenir les publications que vous nous avez demandées.